If you have an iPhone or iPad, you may be thinking about resetting it.
But what happens to your data when you do this? It turns out that there are two different types of encryption on Apple devices—one that protects data stored locally on the device and another that protects information sent over the web.
We’ll explain how each works, as well as what happens when you perform a reset on these encrypted systems.
Factory Reset iPhone to Its Default Settings
When you perform a reset on your device, the following will happen:
Data on your iPhone is erased. All data stored on the device, including files and applications, is deleted.
If a passcode is used to lock the device, it must be entered before you can reset your iPhone to factory settings.
Once you opt-in to restore your iPhone to its default settings, you’ll lose access to existing apps and settings unless you have backed up your device beforehand.
Reset Encrypted Data
End-to-end encryption is a form of data security that prevents unauthorized access to your data. This type of encryption, which encrypts the content on your iPhone and then protects it when it’s sent over a network, is available on all Apple devices.
If you’re being prompted with the Reset End-to-End Encrypted Data message on your iPhone and choose to move forward, here is what will happen.
You’ll lose the data. It’s gone forever, so you’ll want to think carefully about what you’re willing to lose before making any decision.
According to this discussion on the Apple forum, the following information will be reset:
- Home data
- Health data
- iCloud Keychain (includes all of your saved accounts and passwords)
- Payment information
- Siri information
- Wi-Fi network information
- Messages in iCloud
Apple explains there is no way to restore end-to-end encryption data.
Luckily, your personal data such as photos, videos, notes, and music, will stay as is.